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2008/09 LICENSE RENEWAL PERIOD

Current Louisiana wholesale legend drug or device distributor licenses will expire on DECEMBER 31, 2008.
License renewal forms for the 2009-year will be mailed to all licensees the first couple weeks of October
2008. In accordance with Board rules, licenses shall be renewed annually by timely and properly submitting
a completed, signed renewal application form along with all pertinent information and any required
documentation and the $200 license renewal fee to the Board office on or before the license expiration date
of December 31, 2008. Please note that the renewal form has been revised and pre-printed with the
information currently on file for the license issued. Please review the form format and the license
information presented carefully making sure all information required is provided and is correct.

Those licenses not timely and properly renewed by December 31, 2008 (including any renewals placed on
hold at the Board office for incompleteness and those received after December 31, 2008) will be expired as of
January 1, 2009 and will have to be reinstated. Reinstatement (renewal) application for those expired
licenses must be made by submitting a reinstatement fee of $200 along with the completed, signed renewal
application form, all pertinent information and any required documentation, and the $200 license renewal
fee (total fees for reinstatement of an expired license = $400). During the period a license is expired prior to
reinstatement, the licensee may not lawfully operate as a wholesale distributor of legend drugs or devices in
Louisiana.

Renewals are processed individually for each license. Payment for multiple license renewals being
submitted together may be made by one check or money order, but any additional documents submitted for
the licenses should be copied and provided for each renewal being submitted.

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSES

Expired licenses and any licensee that voluntarily fee of $200 in addition to the $200 license fee ($400 total
surrenders the license but then wishes to “re-” license fees). During the period a license is expired/invalid
in order to again sell and/or distribute legend drugs prior to reinstatement, the licensee may not lawfully
and/or devices into the state may apply to reinstate the operate as a wholesale distributor of legend drugs
license by submitting a completed, signed application and/or devices in Louisiana and could be subject to the
form along with payment of the license reinstatement assessment of disciplinary fines.

CHANGE OF LICENSED FACILITY INFORMATION

Changes in any information regarding your licensed facilities locations by owner and are not-transferable. A
facility must be submitted to the Board in writing or by new location requires inspection and issuance of a new
application, if applicable. If you are planning to move license. All license information changes must be
your facility to a new location or if your facility has a submitted to the Board within 60 days of such change
change in ownership, you must notify this Board by as per LAC 46:XCI.303.C.

applying for new licensure. Licenses are issued to
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ARE ALL OF YOUR LOCATIONS LICENSED

Both sales locations and the distribution locations (if different) for your company are required to be licensed as
wholesale drug distributors. Each location must be licensed on its own. If you have multiple locations that either sell
or distribute legend drug or device product, be sure they are all licensed

! NOTICE!!

WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTOR LICENSEES DISTRIBUTING MEDICAL GASES (ONLY) who also
distribute legend devices must adhere to Board promulgated rules with regards to security and inventory.
Per LAC 46:XCI.309.A.2, a facility used for wholesale device distribution must be secure from unauthorized
entry - access from outside the premises shall be kept to a minimum and be well-controlled; the outside
perimeter of the premises shall be well-lighted; and entry into areas where devices are held shall be limited
to authorized personnel. The facility shall be equipped with a monitored alarm system to detect entry after
hours and shall be equipped with a security system that will provide suitable protection against theft or
diversion. Per LAC 46:XCIL.311.A, device distributors must establish and maintain perpetual inventories and
records of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of devices.

INSPECTIONS
BOARD INSPECTOR(S) MAY NOT ANNOUNCE OR SCHEDULE INSPECTIONS IN ADVANCE.

Your facility will be inspected during your normal business hours. During that time, there must be someone available
that can produce records and assist the Board inspector with the inspection. If the owner/manager is not at the
facility when the inspector arrives for the inspection, there must be someone designated to act in his or her place to
allow an inspection as authorized in R.S. 37:3470 to take place. It is your responsibility to be in compliance when the
inspector arrives. Non-compliance issues that are corrected while the inspector is present will be considered as
violations found and reported to the Board’s compliance officer.

VIOLATIONS FREQUENTLY FOUND DURING FACILITY INSPECTIONS

Recent inspections conducted at licensed facility within Louisiana have found an increasing number of non-
compliant/violations of state statues and Board promulgated rules, including but not limited to, the following:

* LAC 46:XCL311.A — Establishing and maintaining perpetual inventories and records of all transactions
regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of drugs or devices.

* LAC 46:XCL311.C — Copies of current licenses for customers who are authorized by law or regulation to
procure and possess drugs or devices shall be maintained for all customers that are shipped or sold drugs or
devices; and

* LAC 46:XCI.413 - Establishing, maintaining, and adhering to written (working) polices and procedures.

Violations of these as well as any of the statutes and rules governing the wholesale distribution of legend drugs or
devices in/into Louisiana could result in disciplinary action being taken against the licensee which could result in
assessment of monetary penalties of up to $1,000 per violation offense.

PERPETUAL INVENTORY

As per Board promulgated regulation, specifically LAC 46:XCIL.311.A which reads:
“Wholesale drug or device distributors shall establish and maintain perpetual inventories and records
of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of drugs or devices. These
records shall include the following information:
1. source of the drugs or devices, the name and principle address of the seller or transferor, and the

address of the facility or physical location from which the drugs or devices were shipped;

2. the identity and quantity of the drugs or devices received and distributed or disposed of; and
3. the dates of receipt and distribution of the drugs or devices.”

Medical gas distributors should note that you are not required to maintain a perpetual inventory on oxygen, but you
are required to maintain perpetual inventories on all other medical gases.
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UNLICENSED SUPPLIERS

As per Board promulgated regulation, specifically LAC
46:XCI.311.F, licensed wholesalers located in Louisiana
are responsible for verifying that their legend drug or
device product suppliers are also licensed by the
Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors to sell
and/or ship legend drugs and/or devices in/into

Louisiana.  Acquiring product from an unlicensed
supplier/ vendor is a violation of Louisiana statutes
and Board promulgated rules and will result in
disciplinary action, which could include assessment of
fines and other sanctions, being taken against the
licensee.

DISPOSAL OF EXPIRED OR QUARANTINED DRUGS OR DEVICES

Do not forget that disposals of legend drugs or devices must be fully documented for a complete inventory record. In
addition, legend drugs or devices should only be transferred to authorized recipients.

AUTHORIZED RECIPIENTS

In accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 37:3480, sales and distribution of drugs or devices must be made to an authorized
recipient — i.e., an individual, corporation, or entity that is authorized by law or regulation to procure or posses such drugs or
devices. In addition, any location to which legend drugs or devices are sent must also be authorized to procure or possess such
drugs or devices. In accordance with Board promulgated regulation, LAC 46.XCIL.311.D and to ensure that the customers you
sell/distribute to are authorized to procure or possess legend drugs or devices, you are required to maintain copies of licenses for
all customers that are shipped or sold legend drugs or devices.

There are different types of licenses or permits that the Board will accept as verification of an authorized recipient of legend drugs
or devices. These are as follows:
D.E.A License
Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance License
Medical Examiner’s License
Dental License
Veterinarian License
Pharmacy License (Do not use Drug Kit Permit)
Louisiana Wholesale Drug Distributors License
Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals Permit:
Food & Drug Permit 461 — OTC & Prescription Drugs

Food & Drug Permit 462 — OTC, Prescription Drugs and
Controlled Substances

Food & Drug Permit 463 — Prescription Drugs

Food & Drug Permit 464 — Prescription & Controlled
Substances

Food & Drug Permit 465 — Controlled Substances

Food & Drug Permit 467 — Prescription Generic Drugs

Food & Drug Permit 468 — OTC Generic & Prescription
Generic Drugs

Food & Drug Permit 480 — Medical Devices

The types of licenses, permits, and certifications that can be used as verification of an authorized recipient of medical gases are the
ones listed above as well as:
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Certification
First Responder Certification
Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals
Food & Drug Permit 473 — Medical Gases

A Divers Alert Network (DAN) certificate or a certificate issued by the American Red Cross cannot be used and is not medical
authorization for the holder to refill oxygen cylinders with medical grade oxygen in Louisiana. These two certificates are not
acceptable.

For nursing homes and hospitals, you cannot use copies of the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals license to
operate/occupational license (is generally, a 3-digit license number) that specifies a licensed capacity number on file. For those
customers that do not have one of the above accepted license/ permits/ certificates, the Board would accept a letter from a
licensed practitioner, along with a copy of the practitioners current medical license, stating he/she has been designated as the
Medical Director/Supervisor for the customer and is allowing the customer to acquire legend drugs and/or devices under his
legal authority as proof of authorized recipient verification for the customer.

For those customers that do not have one of the above accepted licenses/ permits/ certificates for the acquisition and possession
of medical gases, the Board would accept a letter from a licensed EMT, First Responder, or medical practitioner stating that
he/she is employed by and is responsible for acquiring medical gases for the customer, along with a copy of the EMT, First
Responder, or medical practitioner’s valid, current license.
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For laboratory facilities which perform human specimen examination or procedures that do not have a licensed medical
practitioner affiliated with the facility, a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certificate may be accepted for
the purchase of legend devices only (no legend drugs permitted).

For ocean vessels that may be fixed, transient, or engaged in international trade, if there is a medical director employed, a copy of
the medical director’s medical license along with a copy of the employment contract or statement of employment may be
accepted. If there is no medical director employed, the master or first officer of the vessel may procure and possess legend drugs
or devices on behalf of the vessel as long as they provide and you maintain on file: (1) a copy of the vessel’s requisition/purchase
order for the drugs and/or devices; and (2) a copy of the delivery ticket/receipt signed by the master or first officer and stamped
with the vessel’s official seal. All documentation must include the vessels name, official number, and country of registry.

Nuclear or Positron Emission Tomography (PET) pharmacies engaged in wholesale distribution of legend drugs may accept the
RAM (Radioactive Material) license from their customers.

AGENCIES WHO OVERSEE WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTION IN LOUISIANA

There are several state and federal government agencies that work together for the regulation of the wholesale distribution of
legend (prescription) drugs and devices in and within the state of Louisiana. First, there is this Board, the LOUISIANA BOARD
OF WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTORS, which is charged by the state legislature to license and regulate wholesale distributors
of legend drugs and devices - including but not limited to manufacturers, repackers’ own-label distributors, private label
distributors, jobbers, brokers, warehouses including manufacturers’, distributors’, chain drug and wholesale drug warehouses,
independent wholesale drug traders, retail pharmacies that conduct wholesale distribution, and freight forwarders - that sell and
distribute in/within Louisiana to entities other than the consumer/patient. There is also the FOOD AND DRUG PROGRAM of
the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health/Sanitarian Services
which is responsible for registering and regulating manufacture and storage distribution locations for drugs, medical devices, and
medical gases and ensuring the sanitation of these facilities. The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy is the state regulatory agency for
the practice of pharmacy and also manages the state CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCE PROGRAM which licenses
locations where controlled substances are held and/or distributed from. There is the UNITED STATES DRUG ENFORCEMENT
AGENCY (DEA), Office of Diversion Control which is the federal agency for registration and enforcement of the provisions of the
Controlled Substance Act as they pertain to the manufacture, distribution, and dispensing of legally produced controlled
substances. The UNITED STATES FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION (FDA) is the federal agency that registers, regulates,
and enforces drug and device pre-marketing approval, manufacturing standards, and safety and effectiveness. Contract
information for these state agencies as well as local state offices of these federal agencies can be obtained from the Board office or
on the Board’s website under Links.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS
Docket No. 2007013 — The licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated
rules, specifically La. R.S. 37:3467 and LAC 46:XCI.311.D, failure to keep current licenses for all customer that are sold
or shipped product; and La. R.S. 37:3467.1 and LAC 46:XCI.313 and 301, failure to maintain policy and procedures.
The licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of $2,000.
Docket No. 2007015 — The licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated
rules, specifically La. R.S. 37:3478, no person shall participate or engage in the wholesale drug distribution business
without a license issued therefore and compliance with other requirements; and LAC 46:XCI.301, every wholesale
drug or device distributor who engages in the wholesale distribution of drugs or devices shall register annually with
the Board. The licensee accepted a consent order, applied for licensure, paid all applicable license fees and was
assessed a fine of $300.
Docket No. 2008002 — The licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated
rules, specifically La. R.S. 37:3467 and LAC 46:XCIL.311.D, failure to maintain copies of current license for customers
who are authorized by law or regulation to procure or possess drugs or devices. The licensee accepted a consent
order and was assessed a fine of $2,000.
Docket No. 2008003 — The licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated
rules, specifically La. R.S. 37:3467 and LAC 46:XCIL.311.D, failure to maintain copies of current license for customers
who are authorized by law or regulation to procure or possess drugs or devices. The licensee accepted a consent
order and was assessed a fine of $2,000.
Docket No. 2008004 — The licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated
rules, specifically La. R.S. 37:3467 and LAC 46:XCI.311.D, failure to maintain copies of current license for customers
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who are authorized by law or regulation to procure or possess drugs or devices. The licensee accepted a consent
order and was assessed a fine of $2,000.

Docket No. 2008005 — The licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated
rules, specifically La. R.S. 37:3467 and LAC 46:XCI.311.D, failure to maintain copies of current license for customers
who are authorized by law or regulation to procure or possess drugs or devices. The licensee accepted a consent
order and was assessed a fine of $2,000.

Docket No. 2008006 — The licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated
rules, specifically La. R.S. 37:3467 and LAC 46:XCIL.311.D, failure to maintain copies of current license for customers
who are authorized by law or regulation to procure or possess drugs or devices. The licensee accepted a consent
order and was assessed a fine of $2,000.

BOARD WEBSITE

The BOARD’S WEBSITE AT www.lsbwdd.org has many
active functions and helpful links. You can print an
application form, view previous newsletters to licensees,
view a list of the current Board Members and staff, view and
print the state statutes & Board rules, verify license
information of wholesale drug or device distributors
licensed by the Board, and do various inquiries, such as
verify and print licenses, using the links to other agencies
such as the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, Louisiana Board
of Dentistry, and the Louisiana Board of Medical Examiners.

on file as customer license verification copies for wholesalers
in Louisiana. You can even download a spreadsheet list of
all Louisiana licensed wholesale drug distributors.

There is a link to the FDA website so you can use it to review
recalls and safety alerts issued by the FDA. You can get
information on applying for a license with the Louisiana
Controlled Dangerous Substance Program through the
Board of Pharmacy. There is also a link to the NDC
directory.

The license information printed from these sites can be kept

IGNORANCE OF THE LAW IS NO EXCUSE

State statutes and Board promulgated rules can be viewed on the Board’s website at www.Isbwdd.org and a copy of
the statutes and rules can be obtained by contacting the Board’s administrative office at 12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C,
Baton Rouge, LA 70816, 225-295-8567, fax 225- 295-8568, email Isbwdd@bellsouth.net. THE BOARD ENCOURAGES
YOU TO KEEP A COPY HANDY FOR FUTURE REFERENCE.

Check to make sure your suppliers/vendors have current Louisiana licenses.

Please pass this newsletter around so that all of your employees can have the }:er\eﬁt o'f

learning more about requlation of the industry.
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LOUISIANA BOARD OF WHOLESALE
DRUG DISTRIBUTORS

12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C

Baton Rouge, LA 70816
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