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In-State Licensee Newsletter JANUARY 2011

2011 LICENSE RENEWAL - Expired Licenses

A list of entities whose licenses as a wholesale drug or device distributor in Louisiana expired on
December 31, 2010 is provided in this newsletter. The licenses were not renewed and the entities may not be
currently licensed for wholesale distribution of legend drugs or devices in/into Louisiana. A person may
not lawfully operate as a wholesale drug or device distributor in Louisiana until the expired license has been
reinstated. USE THE BOARD WEBSITE AT www.Lsbwdd.org TO VERIFY FOR LICENSE
REINSTATEMENT OR NEW LICENSE ISSUANCE (location change or change of ownership).

Pursuant to Board regulation LAC 46:XCL311.F, licensed wholesalers located in Louisiana shall not
purchase or receive drugs or devices from other than wholesale drug distributors licensed by the Board to
ship or sell in or into Louisiana. Licensees discovered purchasing or receiving legend drugs or devices from
unlicensed suppliers (including those former licensees whose Louisiana licenses are expired) could receive
disciplinary action including assessment of fines.

NOTICE TO WHOLESALER/PHARMACIES
Pharmacies that are licensed with the Louisiana Board of Wholesale Distributor for wholesale drug
distribution and who are selling/ distributing controlled substances should contact the Louisiana Board of
Pharmacy to determine if a separate controlled dangerous substance license as issued by the Board of
Pharmacy is required as a distributor.
LOUISIANA BOARD OF PHARMACY, Controlled Dangerous Substance Program
225-925-6496 (Option 4), www .labp.com

RULE AMENDMENTS
The final Rule for amendment to Louisiana Administrative Codes in 46:XCI.105- Wholesale Drug
Distribution, Exemptions, classifying the sale or transfer of drugs or devices among hospitals or other health
care entities within a group purchasing organization as wholesale drug distribution activities and
requirement of the selling/ transferring entity to obtain licensure was published in the Louisiana Register in
November 2010.
The Board has begun promulgation of amendments to its rules:
¢ A Notice of Intent for amendments to Louisiana Administrative Codes in 46:XCI.105 was published
in the November 2010 Louisiana Register. These amendments include changes to General Provision-
Wholesale Drug Distribution-Exemptions to clarify intra-company sales.
To receive a copy of the published Rules and Notices, please contact the Board office in writing at
12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C, Baton Rouge LA 70816, via fax at 225-295-8568, or via email at
Lsbwdd@bellsouth.net.
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CHANGE OF LICENSED FACILITY INFORMATION

Changes in any information with regards to such
items as contact persons for the facility or physical
location, the owners of the licensee including the
percentage of interest owned (without a change in
ownership), the person designated as the responsible
party, the directors and officers, or the regulatory
contact person must be submitted to the Board in
writing and should be submitted within 60 days after
such changes become effective.

Any licensee changing their physical location is
required to submit an application for location change
at least 30 days prior to such change of location. A
new location physically located in Louisiana requires

If your facility has a change in ownership, you
should notify this Board by applying for a new license
for the new ownership as soon as the change becomes
effective.

Licenses are issued to facility locations by owner
and are not-transferable.

In accordance with La. R.S. 37:3478.A, no person
shall participate or engage in the wholesale drug
distribution business without a license; therefore a new
location must be licensed before the move and business
is conducted from the new location. Failure to adhere
to current laws and regulations could result in
disciplinary action being taken against the licensee.

inspection before a new license will be issued.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR MEDICAL GAS DISTRIBUTORS ALSO

DISTRIBUTING LEGEND DEVICES

WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTOR LICENSEES DISTRIBUTING MEDICAL GASES (ONLY) who also
distribute legend devices must adhere to Board promulgated rules with regards to security and inventory.
Pursuant to LAC 46:XCI.309.A.2, a facility used for wholesale device distribution must be secure from
unauthorized entry: access from outside the premises shall be kept to a minimum and be well-controlled;
the outside perimeter of the premises shall be well-lighted; and entry into areas where devices are held shall
be limited to authorized personnel. The facility shall be equipped with a monitored alarm system to detect
entry after hours and shall be equipped with a security system that will provide suitable protection against
theft or diversion. Pursuant to LAC 46:XCIL.311.A, device distributors must establish and maintain
perpetual inventories and records of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other
disposition of devices.

DISPOSAL OF EXPIRED OR QUARANTINED DRUGS OR DEVICES

Remember that all disposals of legend drugs or devices must be fully documented for a complete inventory record.
Legend drugs or devices should only be transferred to entities authorized by law or regulation to procure and possess
legend drugs or devices.

UNLICENSED SUPPLIERS
! CAUTION!!

All wholesale drug distributors physically located and conducting operations in Louisiana should verify that
each shipping location of every legend drug or legend device supplier they purchase from is licensed by this Board to
distribute legend drugs/ devices into Louisiana.

In accordance with LAC 46:XCIL.311.F, wholesale drug or device distributors located in Louisiana shall not
purchase or receive drugs or devices from other than wholesale drug distributors licensed by the Board to ship or sell
in or into Louisiana and they shall notify the Board of any wholesaler not licensed by this Board shipping in or into
Louisiana or selling or offering to sell in or into Louisiana.

Louisiana licenses are valid only for the facility or physical location for which it is issued to (LAC
46:XCI.303.C).

The Board requires a separate license for EACH facility or physical location owned or operated by the same
business entity that sells and/or distributes legend drugs or devices in/into Louisiana (LAC 46:XCL301.A.1).

An entity must license all locations from which legend drugs or devices are sold and/or shipped (LAC
46:XCIL.301.A.2).
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AUTHORIZED RECIPIENTS

In accordance with La. R.S. 37:3480, sales or distribution of legend drugs or devices shall be made only to an
authorized recipient - i.e., a person such as a natural or juridical person including an individual, corporation or other
legal business entity - who is authorized by law or regulation to procure or posses such drugs or devices. Any
location to which legend drugs or devices are sent must also be authorized to procure or possess such drugs or
devices. In accordance with Board regulation LAC 46.XCI.311.D, and to ensure that the customers you sell/ distribute
to are authorized to procure or possess legend drugs or devices, wholesale drug distributors are required to maintain
copies of licenses for all customers that are shipped or sold legend drugs or devices.

The Board will accept as verification of an authorized recipient of legend drugs or devices the following types of
licenses, certificates, or permits:

D.E.A License Food & Drug Permit 462 - OTC, Prescription Drugs
Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance License and Controlled Substances
Medical Examiner’s License for Physicians Food & Drug Permit 463 - Prescription Drugs
Dentist License Food & Drug Permit 464 - Prescription & Controlled
Veterinarian License Substances
Pharmacy License (Do not use Drug Kit Permit) Food & Drug Permit 465 - Controlled Substances
Louisiana Wholesale Drug Distributors License Food & Drug Permit 467 - Prescription Generic
Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals Permit: Drugs

Food & Drug Permit 461 - OTC & Prescription Food & Drug Permit 468 - OTC Generic &

Drugs Prescription Generic Drugs

Food & Drug Permit 480 - Medical Devices

The types of licenses, permits, and certifications that can be used as verification of an authorized recipient of medical
gases include those listed above and the following:
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Certification
First Responder Certification
Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals
Food & Drug Permit 473 - Medical Gases

A Divers Alert Network (DAN) certificate or a certificate issued by the American Red Cross cannot be used and is not
medical authorization for the holder to refill oxygen cylinders with medical grade oxygen in Louisiana. These two
certificates are not acceptable.

A Medical Gas Installer license or Medical Gas/Vacuum Systems Verifier license as issued by the State Plumbing
Board of Louisiana does not authorize the holder to procure and possess legend (Rx) medical gases including medical
grade nitrogen. Mechanical Contractors or plumbers are not authorized to procure or possess legend medical gases
for testing of medical gas delivery system installations. The mechanical contractor or plumber must have a contracted
medical director which allows the mechanical contractor or plumber to procure the legend medical gas through the
auspice of the medical director’s license. Otherwise, the legend medical gases must be procured by the location where
the delivery system is being installed - such as but not limited to hospitals, medical clinics, surgery centers, dentists,
physician offices, or other entities that hold a license authorizing the procurement and possession of legend medical
gases.

For nursing homes and hospitals, a wholesale drug distributor cannot use copies of the Louisiana Department of
Health and Hospitals license to operate/occupational license (is generally, a 3-digit license number) that specifies a
licensed capacity number on file.

For customers not having one of the above accepted license/ permits/ certificates, the Board will accept a letter from a
licensed practitioner, along with a copy of the practitioner’s current medical license, stating designation as the Medical
Director/ Supervisor for the customer and that the practitioner is allowing the customer to acquire legend drugs
and/or devices under the practitioner’s legal authority.
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For customers not having one of the above accepted licenses/ permits/ certificates for the acquisition and possession
of medical gases, the Board will accept a letter from a licensed EMT, First Responder, or medical practitioner stating
that he/she is employed by and is responsible for acquiring medical gases for the customer, along with a copy of the
EMT, First Responder, or medical practitioner’s valid, current license.

For ocean vessels that may be fixed, transient, or engaged in international trade with a medical director employed, a
copy of the medical director’s medical license along with a copy of the employment contract or statement of
employment may be accepted. If no medical director employed, the master or first officer of the vessel may procure
and possess legend drugs or devices on behalf of the vessel as long as they provide and you maintain on file: (1) a
copy of the vessel’s requisition/purchase order for the drugs and/or devices; and (2) a copy of the delivery
ticket/receipt signed by the master or first officer and stamped with the vessel’s official seal. All documentation must
include the vessels name, official number, and country of registry.

Nuclear or Positron Emission Tomography (PET) pharmacies engaged in wholesale distribution of legend drugs may
accept the RAM (Radioactive Material) license from their customers for only radioactive drugs. All other drug sales
require a license or permit as previously listed above.

INSPECTIONS
BOARD INSPECTOR(S) MAY NOT ANNOUNCE OR SCHEDULE INSPECTIONS IN ADVANCE.
Your facility will be inspected during your normal business hours. During that time, there must be
someone available that can produce records and assist the Board inspector with the inspection. If the
owner/manager is not at the facility when the inspector arrives for the inspection, there must be someone
designated to act in his or her place to allow the inspection authorized in La. R.S. 37:3470 to take place. It is
your responsibility to be in compliance when the inspector arrives. Even non-compliance issues corrected
while the inspector is present will be considered violations and reported to the Board’s compliance officer.

PERPETUAL INVENTORY
Board regulation LAC 46:XCIL.311.A provides:
“A. Wholesale drug or device distributors shall establish and maintain perpetual inventories and
records of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of drugs or
devices. These records shall include the following information:
1. source of the drugs or devices, the name and principal address of the seller or transferor, and the
address of the facility or physical location from which the drugs or devices were shipped;
2. the identity and quantity of the drugs or devices received and distributed or disposed of; and
3. the dates of receipt and distribution of the drugs or devices.”

Medical gas distributors are not required to maintain a perpetual inventory on oxygen, but are required to maintain
perpetual inventories on all other medical gases and legend devices (if applicable).

ARE ALL OF YOUR LOCATIONS LICENSED

Separate licenses are required for each facility or physical location directly or indirectly owned or operated by
the same business entity or for a parent entity with divisions, subdivisions, subsidiaries, and/or affiliate companies
when operations are conducted at more than one location and there exists joint ownership and control among all
entities.

If your business has more than one location that either sells and/or distributes legend drugs or devices, make
sure each location is licensed for wholesale distribution of legend drug or device.
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VIOLATIONS FREQUENTLY NOTED DURING FACILITY INSPECTIONS

Some violations of state statues and Board rules frequently found during inspection of licensed facilities within
Louisiana including, but not limited to, the following;:

e LAC46:XCIL303.C (and La. R.S. 37:3474.2(A)) - A license is valid only for the facility or location for which it is
issued (selling or shipping drugs or devices from a facility not licensed). (Moving and conducing business before
acquiring a new license for the new location.)

e LAC 46:XCL311.A - Establishing and maintaining perpetual inventories and records of all transactions
regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of drugs or devices.

e LAC 46:XCL311.D - Copies of current licenses for customers who are authorized by law or regulation to
procure and possess drugs or devices shall be maintained for all customers that are shipped or sold drugs or
devices; and

e LAC46:XCIL.313 - Establishing, maintaining, and adhering to written (working) policies and procedures.

e LAC 46:XCL311.F - Purchasing or receiving legend drugs or devices from a supplier not licensed as a
wholesale drug distributor to ship or sell in/into Louisiana.

Violations of these as well as any of the statutes and rules governing the wholesale distribution of legend drugs or
devices in/into Louisiana may result in disciplinary action against the licensee, with the assessment of fines of up to
$1,000 per violation.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Docket No. 2010EA1017, INCISIVE SURGICAL, Plymouth MN - Enforcement action was taken against the entity
found to be in violation of La. R.S. 37:3474.2(A), engaging in wholesale drug distribution in Louisiana without being
licensed to do so. The entity accepted a consent agreement, applied for and received a Louisiana license (no. 6741),
and was assessed and paid a fine of $1,000.

Docket No. 2010EA1019, ORS NASCO, INC. (Birmingham), Moody AL - Enforcement action was taken against the
entity where there was found to be sufficient evidence upon which to predicate violation of La. R.S. 37:3474.2(A),
engaging in wholesale drug distribution in Louisiana without being licensed to do so. The entity accepted a consent
agreement, applied for and received a Louisiana license (No. 6680), and was assessed and paid a fine of $1,000 and
administrative costs of $250.00.

Docket No. 2010EA1020, SONAR PRODUCTS, INC., Carlstadt NJ - Enforcement action was taken against the entity
where there was found to be sufficient evidence upon which to predicate violation of La. R.S. 37:3474.2(A), engaging
in wholesale drug distribution in Louisiana without first being licensed to do so. The entity accepted a consent
agreement, applied for and received a Louisiana license (No. 6633), and was assessed and paid a fine of $1,000 and
administrative costs of $250.00.

FEES
The board may collect the following fees.
Initial License Fee —$200
License Renewal Fee —$200
Initial Inspection Fee —$100
Duplicate License Fee —$10
License Reinstatement Fee for licenses suspended, revoked, or expired —$200
License Verification Fee —$15

SNBSS

REMINDER: SERVICE FEES

Requests for duplicate license certificate should be made in writing to the Board office and must include payment of a
$10 fee. Requests for license verifications must include payment of a $15 fee per each verification requested. Name
change requests, not associated with a change in ownership, must be made by approved request form available on the
Board’s website and submitted along with a $25 processing charge.
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BOARD WEBSITE

The BOARD’S WEBSITE, www.Lsbwdd.org, has
many active functions and helpful links. You can
complete and print an application form (instructions
available on site), view previous newsletters, view a
list of the current Board Members and staff, view and
print the state statutes and Board rules, verify license
information of wholesale drug or device distributors
licensed by the Board, complete and print a name
change request (not associated with a change in
ownership), and view licensing information - such as
general license information, inspection and policy &
procedure guidelines for in-state licensees/ applicants,

There are links to other agencies including the
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, Louisiana Board of
Dentistry, and the Louisiana Board of Medical
Examiners. License information printed from these
sites can be kept on file as customer license verification
copies for wholesalers in Louisiana.

There is a link to the FDA website that can be used
to review recalls and safety alerts issued by the FDA.

You can get information on applying for a license
with the Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance
Program through the Board of Pharmacy.

There is also a link to the NDC directory.

making a request for license verification, and the fee
schedule.

AGENCIES OVERSEEING WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTION IN LOUISIANA

There are several state and federal government agencies that work together for the regulation of the wholesale
distribution of legend (prescription) drugs and devices in and within the state of Louisiana.

This Board, the LOUISIANA BOARD OF WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTORS, is charged by the state legislature to
license and regulate wholesale distributors of legend drugs and devices - including but not limited to manufacturers,
repackers, own-label distributors, jobbers, third party logistic providers, retail pharmacy warehouses, brokers, agents,
and pharmacies - that sell and distribute in/within Louisiana to entities other than the consumer/patient.

The FOOD AND DRUG PROGRAM of the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health,
Center for Environmental Health/Sanitarian Services is responsible for ensuring the sanitary manufacture and storage
of drugs, medical devices, and medical gases within Louisiana.

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy is the state regulatory agency for the practice of pharmacy and also manages the
state CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCE PROGRAM which licenses locations where controlled substances
are held and/ or distributed.

The UNITED STATES DRUG ENFORCEMENT AGENCY (DEA), Office of Diversion Control is the federal agency for
registration and enforcement of the provisions of the Controlled Substance Act as they pertain to the manufacture,
distribution, and dispensing of legally produced controlled substances.

The UNITED STATES FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION (FDA) is the federal agency that registers, regulates,
and enforces drug and device pre-marketing approval, manufacturing standards, and safety and effectiveness.

Contract information for these state agencies as well as local state offices of these federal agencies can be obtained
from the Board office or on the Board’s website under Links.

IGNORANCE OF THE LAW IS NO EXCUSE

State statutes and Board promulgated rules can be viewed on the Board’s website at www.Lsbwdd.org. A copy of the
statutes and rules may be obtained by contacting the Board office at 12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C, Baton Rouge, LA
70816, 225-295-8567, fax 225- 295-8568, email Isbwdd@bellsouth.net. THE BOARD ENCOURAGES YOU TO KEEP A
COPY HANDY FOR FUTURE REFERENCE.
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The Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors licensee newsletter is considered an official method of notification

to wholesale drug distributors licensed by the Board. These Newsletters can be used in administrative hearings

as proof of notification. Please read them carefully. We encourage you to keep them for future reference.
~Newsletters are available on the Board’s website for viewing.

Please share this newsletter so that your emp!ogees may benefit by Yearh?hg
more about regulaﬁoh of the ir\dustrg,

This public document was published and distributed at a cost of $592.12. Copies totaling 275 of this public document were
published and distributed in this first printing at a cost of $592.12. The total cost of all printings of this document, including
reprints, is $592.12. This document was published and distributed by the Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, 12046
Justice Avenue, Suite C, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70816 to provide information related to licensing to licensees. This material was
printed in accordance with the standards for printing by state agencies established pursuant to R.S. 43:31.
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