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LOUISIANA BOARD OF WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTORS 
12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C 

Baton Rouge, LA  70816 
Phone: 225-295-8567     Fax: 225-295-8568     Website: www.Lsbwdd.org     email: Lsbwdd@bellsouth.net 

 

In-State Licensee Newsletter    JANUARY 2009 
 
 

2009 LICENSE RENEWAL  
The 2009 license renewal period has concluded.  Those licenses renewed are now current through December 
31, 2009. Several licenses that were not timely and properly renewed have expired. These companies can no 
longer lawfully sell or ship legend drugs or devices in Louisiana.   
 
If a Louisiana licensee is found to be selling/distributing legend drugs or devices in Louisiana with an 
expired license OR purchasing and receiving from a company that has an expired Louisiana license, the 
licensee will be in violation of Louisiana statutes and Board rules and will be subject to disciplinary action 
which could include the assessment of fines.  
 

Please check to make sure your suppliers/vendors have current Louisiana licenses.
 

 

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSES 
Expired licenses and any licensee that voluntarily surrenders their license may apply to reinstate the license if they 
wish to again sell and/or distribute legend drugs or devices in/into the state by submitting a completed, signed 
application form along with payment of the license (renewal) fee of $200 and the reinstatement fee of $200 ($400 total 
fees).  During the period a license is expired (surrendered) prior to reinstatement, the licensee may not lawfully 
operate as a wholesale distributor of legend drugs or devices in Louisiana and could be subject to disciplinary if found 
to be doing so. 

 

 

CHANGE OF LICENSED FACILITY INFORMATION 
Changes in any information regarding your licensed 
facility must be submitted to the Board in writing or by 
application, if applicable.  If you are planning to move 
your facility to a new location or if your facility has a 
change in ownership, you must notify this Board by 
applying for a new license for the new facility location.  

Licenses are issued to facilities locations by owner and 
are not-transferable. A new location requires 
inspection and issuance of a new license.  All license 
information changes must be submitted to the Board 
within 60 days of such change as per LAC 
46:XCI.303.C. 

 
 

ARE ALL OF YOUR LOCATIONS LICENSED 
All locations that sell and distribution (if different) legend drug or devices for your company are required to be 
licensed as wholesale drug distributors.  Each location must be licensed on its own.  If you have multiple locations 
that either sell or distribute legend drugs or devices, make sure they are all licensed for wholesale legend drug or 
device distribution. 
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PROPOSED RULE AMENDMENTS 
The Board will start promulgation of amendments to its rules in Louisiana Administrative Codes 46.XCI. 
These amendments include changes to: General Provisions- Definitions and Exemptions; Licensing, 
Renewal and Reinstatement Requirements; Required Information and Qualifications; Powers & Functions of 
the Board; Disciplinary Action; and Fees.  Publication of the Notice of Intent for these rule amendments is 
anticipated in the Louisiana Register in the March 2009 issue.  If you would like to receive a copy of the 
Notice of Intent, please contact the Board office by making written request via mail, fax or email. 
 

INSPECTIONS 
BOARD INSPECTOR(S) MAY NOT ANNOUNCE OR SCHEDULE INSPECTIONS IN ADVANCE. 

Your facility will be inspected during your normal business hours.  During that time, there must be 
someone available that can produce records and assist the Board inspector with the inspection.  If the 
owner/manager is not at the facility when the inspector arrives for the inspection, there must be someone 
designated to act in his or her place to allow an inspection as authorized in R.S. 37:3470 to take place.  It is 
your responsibility to be in compliance when the inspector arrives.  Non-compliance issues that are 
corrected while the inspector is present will be considered as violations found and reported to the Board’s 
compliance officer. 

 

VIOLATIONS FREQUENTLY NOTED DURING FACILITY INSPECTIONS 
Recent inspections conducted at licensed facility within Louisiana have found an increasing number of non-
compliant/violations of state statues and Board rules, including but not limited to, the following: 

 LAC 46:XCI.311.A – Establishing and maintaining perpetual inventories and records of all transactions 
regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of drugs or devices. 

 LAC 46:XCI.311.C – Copies of current licenses for customers who are authorized by law or regulation to 
procure and possess drugs or devices shall be maintained for all customers that are shipped or sold drugs or 
devices; and 

 LAC 46:XCI.413 – Establishing, maintaining, and adhering to written (working) polices and procedures. 
Violations of these as well as any of the statutes and rules governing the wholesale distribution of legend drugs or 
devices in/into Louisiana could result in disciplinary action being taken against the licensee which could result in 
assessment of monetary penalties of up to $1,000 per violation offense. 
 

PERPETUAL INVENTORY 
As per Board promulgated regulation, specifically LAC 46:XCI.311.A which reads: 

“Wholesale drug or device distributors shall establish and maintain perpetual inventories and 
records of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of drugs 
or devices.  These records shall include the following information: 
1. source of the drugs or devices, the name and principle address of the seller or transferor, 

and the address of the facility or physical location from which the drugs or devices were 
shipped; 

2. the identity and quantity of the drugs or devices received and distributed or disposed of; 
and 

3. the dates of receipt and distribution of the drugs or devices.” 
 
Medical gas distributors should note that you are not required to maintain a perpetual inventory on oxygen, 
but you are required to maintain perpetual inventories on all other medical gases. 
 

DISPOSAL OF EXPIRED OR QUARANTINED DRUGS OR DEVICES 
Do not forget that disposals of legend drugs or devices must be fully documented for a complete inventory record.  In 
addition, legend drugs or devices should only be transferred to authorized recipients.   
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AUTHORIZED RECIPIENTS 
In accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 37:3480, sales and distribution of drugs or devices must be made to an authorized 
recipient – i.e., an individual, corporation, or entity that is authorized by law or regulation to procure or posses such drugs or 
devices.  In addition, any location to which legend drugs or devices are sent must also be authorized to procure or possess such 
drugs or devices.  In accordance with Board promulgated regulation, LAC 46.XCI.311.D and to ensure that the customers you 
sell/distribute to are authorized to procure or possess legend drugs or devices, you are required to maintain copies of licenses for 
all customers that are shipped or sold legend drugs or devices.   
 
There are different types of licenses or permits that the Board will accept as verification of an authorized recipient of legend drugs 
or devices.  These are as follows: 
D.E.A License 
Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance License 
Medical Examiner’s License 
Dental License 
Veterinarian License 
Pharmacy License (Do not use Drug Kit Permit) 
Louisiana Wholesale Drug Distributors License 
Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals Permit: 
 Food & Drug Permit 461 – OTC & Prescription Drugs 

Food & Drug Permit 462 – OTC, Prescription Drugs and 
Controlled Substances 

Food & Drug Permit 463 – Prescription Drugs 
Food & Drug Permit 464 – Prescription & Controlled 

Substances 
Food & Drug Permit 465 – Controlled Substances 
Food & Drug Permit 467 – Prescription Generic Drugs 
Food & Drug Permit 468 – OTC Generic & Prescription 

Generic Drugs 
Food & Drug Permit 480 – Medical Devices 

 
The types of licenses, permits, and certifications that can be used as verification of an authorized recipient of medical gases are the 
ones listed above as well as: 

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Certification 
First Responder Certification 

Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals 
Food & Drug Permit 473 – Medical Gases 

 
A Divers Alert Network (DAN) certificate or a certificate issued by the American Red Cross cannot be used and is not medical 
authorization for the holder to refill oxygen cylinders with medical grade oxygen in Louisiana.  These two certificates are not 
acceptable.  A Medical Gas Installer license or Medical Gas/Vacuum Systems Verifier license as issued by the State Plumbing 
Board of Louisiana does not authorize the holder to procure and possess legend (Rx) medical gases including medical grade 
oxygen. 
 
For nursing homes and hospitals, you cannot use copies of the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals license to 
operate/occupational license (is generally, a 3-digit license number) that specifies a licensed capacity number on file. For those 
customers that do not have one of the above accepted license/ permits/ certificates, the Board would accept a letter from a 
licensed practitioner, along with a copy of the practitioners current medical license, stating he/she has been designated as the 
Medical Director/Supervisor for the customer and is allowing the customer to acquire legend drugs and/or devices under his 
legal authority as proof of authorized recipient verification for the customer. 
 
For those customers that do not have one of the above accepted licenses/ permits/ certificates for the acquisition and possession 
of medical gases, the Board would accept a letter from a licensed EMT, First Responder, or medical practitioner stating that 
he/she is employed by and is responsible for acquiring medical gases for the customer, along with a copy of the EMT, First 
Responder, or medical practitioner’s valid, current license. 
 
For ocean vessels that may be fixed, transient, or engaged in international trade, if there is a medical director employed, a copy of 
the medical director’s medical license along with a copy of the employment contract or statement of employment may be 
accepted. If there is no medical director employed, the master or first officer of the vessel may procure and possess legend drugs 
or devices on behalf of the vessel as long as they provide and you maintain on file: (1) a copy of the vessel’s requisition/purchase 
order for the drugs and/or devices; and (2) a copy of the delivery ticket/receipt signed by the master or first officer and stamped 
with the vessel’s official seal. All documentation must include the vessels name, official number, and country of registry. 
 
Nuclear or Positron Emission Tomography (PET) pharmacies engaged in wholesale distribution of legend drugs may accept the 
RAM (Radioactive Material) license from their customers. 
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UNLICENSED SUPPLIERS 
As per Board promulgated regulation, specifically LAC 
46:XCI.311.F, licensed wholesalers located in Louisiana 
are responsible for verifying that their legend drug or 
device product suppliers are also licensed by the 
Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors to sell 
and/or ship legend drugs and/or devices in/into 

Louisiana.  Acquiring product from an unlicensed 
supplier/ vendor is a violation of Louisiana statutes 
and Board promulgated rules and will result in 
disciplinary action, which could include assessment of 
fines and other sanctions, being taken against the 
licensee. 

 
 

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
There have been no disciplinary cases resolved since the last newsletter. 

 
!! NOTICE !! 

WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTOR LICENSEES DISTRIBUTING MEDICAL GASES (ONLY) who also 
distribute legend devices must adhere to Board promulgated rules with regards to security and inventory.  
Per LAC 46:XCI.309.A.2, a facility used for wholesale device distribution must be secure from unauthorized 
entry - access from outside the premises shall be kept to a minimum and be well-controlled; the outside 
perimeter of the premises shall be well-lighted; and entry into areas where devices are held shall be limited 
to authorized personnel.  The facility shall be equipped with a monitored alarm system to detect entry after 
hours and shall be equipped with a security system that will provide suitable protection against theft or 
diversion.  Per LAC 46:XCI.311.A, device distributors must establish and maintain perpetual inventories and 
records of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of devices.   

 
 

AGENCIES WHO OVERSEE WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTION IN LOUISIANA 
There are several state and federal government agencies that work together for the regulation of the 
wholesale distribution of legend (prescription) drugs and devices in and within the state of Louisiana. First, 
there is this Board, the LOUISIANA BOARD OF WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTORS, which is charged 
by the state legislature to license and regulate wholesale distributors of legend drugs and devices - 
including but not limited to manufacturers, repackers’ own-label distributors, private label distributors, 
jobbers, brokers, warehouses including manufacturers’, distributors’, chain drug and wholesale drug 
warehouses, independent wholesale drug traders, retail pharmacies that conduct wholesale distribution, 
and freight forwarders - that sell and distribute in/within Louisiana to entities other than the 
consumer/patient.  There is also the FOOD AND DRUG PROGRAM of the Louisiana Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health/Sanitarian Services which is 
responsible for registering and regulating manufacture and storage distribution locations for drugs, medical 
devices, and medical gases and ensuring the sanitation of these facilities.  The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy 
is the state regulatory agency for the practice of pharmacy and also manages the state CONTROLLED 
DANGEROUS SUBSTANCE PROGRAM which licenses locations where controlled substances are held 
and/or distributed from. There is the UNITED STATES DRUG ENFORCEMENT AGENCY (DEA), Office of 
Diversion Control which is the federal agency for registration and enforcement of the provisions of the 
Controlled Substance Act as they pertain to the manufacture, distribution, and dispensing of legally 
produced controlled substances.  The UNITED STATES FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION (FDA) is 
the federal agency that registers, regulates, and enforces drug and device pre-marketing approval, 
manufacturing standards, and safety and effectiveness. Contract information for these state agencies as well 
as local state offices of these federal agencies can be obtained from the Board office or on the Board’s website 
under Links. 
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IGNORANCE OF THE LAW IS NO EXCUSE 

State statutes and Board promulgated rules can be viewed on the Board’s website at www.lsbwdd.org and a copy of the statutes 
and rules can be obtained by contacting the Board’s administrative office at 12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C, Baton Rouge, LA 
70816, 225-295-8567, fax 225- 295-8568, email lsbwdd@bellsouth.net.  THE BOARD ENCOURAGES YOU TO KEEP A COPY 
HANDY FOR FUTURE REFERENCE. 

 

BOARD WEBSITE 
The BOARD’S WEBSITE AT www.lsbwdd.org has many 
active functions and helpful links.  You can complete and 
print an application form, view previous newsletters, view a 
list of the current Board Members and staff, view and print 
the state statutes & Board rules, verify license information of 
wholesale drug or device distributors licensed by the Board, 
and do various inquiries, such as verify and print licenses, 
using the links to other agencies such as the Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy, Louisiana Board of Dentistry, and the 
Louisiana Board of Medical Examiners.  The license 
information printed from these sites can be kept on file as 

customer license verification copies for wholesalers in 
Louisiana.  You can even download a spreadsheet list of all 
Louisiana licensed wholesale drug distributors.   
 
There is a link to the FDA website so you can use it to review 
recalls and safety alerts issued by the FDA.  You can get 
information on applying for a license with the Louisiana 
Controlled Dangerous Substance Program through the 
Board of Pharmacy.  There is also a link to the NDC 
directory.

 
 

 

 

 

Please pass this newsletter around so that all of your employees can have the benefit of 
learning more about regulation of the industry. 

 
 

 


